USCIS announced that it will cease operations in 13 international field offices and 3 district offices between now and August 2020. This means that the 7 that will continue operating are the offices in Beijing and Guangzhou, China; Nairobi, Kenya; New Delhi, India; Guatemala City, Guatemala; Mexico City, Mexico; and San Salvador, El Salvador. The first offices to close at the end of September will be in Monterrey, Mexico and Seoul, South Korea. The agency cited the efficient allocation of resources and reducing backlog as reasons for the reorganization and explained that many of the current duties will be shifted to USCIS domestically or handled by the Department of State.

– Weekly Immigration Briefing by Olivia Hester, Immigration Law Analyst at Docketwise

Posted in: Immigration